Monday, December 8, 2014

Governor-elect Abbott Announces Staff, Outlines Priorities For Session

AUSTIN – Texas Governor-elect Greg Abbott today announced personnel to fill key staff positions in his incoming administration, in addition to outlining his priorities for the upcoming legislative session, which include education, border security, economic expansion and tax reduction.

"On Election Night, I made a promise to the people of Texas to begin work immediately to keep Texas the beacon of opportunity and the best state in the nation. A promise is worth little without the right plan and the right people to turn that plan into action," said Abbott. "I have outlined a Blueprint for an even better Texas of tomorrow, and I am proud to have an experienced leadership team with the proven skills and the deep commitment needed to make my promises a reality. We are ready to get to work on Day One to ensure greater opportunity for all Texans."

Staff Positions Announced By Governor-elect Abbott:

Judge Carlos Cascos, Secretary of State*

Daniel Hodge, Chief of Staff

Julia Rathgeber, Deputy Chief of Staff

Robert Allen, Deputy Chief of Staff

Kara Belew, Budget Director

Jimmy Blacklock, General Counsel

Amelia Chassé, Press Secretary

Lauren Clay, Senior Advisor to the Governor for the Office of First Lady

Reed Clay, Senior Advisor

Drew DeBerry, Policy Director

Jay Dyer, Deputy Legislative Director

Randy Erben, Legislative Director

Matt Hirsch, Communications Director

Erin Hodges, Special Assistant to the Governor

Chelsea Holden, Senior Advisor to the First Lady

Tracye McDaniel, President of the Texas Economic Development Corp.

Stacey Napier, Director of Administration

Luis Saenz, Appointments Director

Kim Snyder, Director of Scheduling and Advance

Jerry Strickland, Executive Director of Office of State and Federal Relations*